Feed Me

My Ecological footprint is big. Considering the way we live in the U.S. the majority of the footprint comes down to services and food.

The Pittsburgh Example

ecological-footprint-pittsburgh

I’m off my all-time best when it comes to balancing out my consumption. This is partially due to my role as a recent transplant. I’m still growing accustom to the new routines associated with my new confines.

 

Pittsburgh Revised

ecological-footprint-revised

Some items which are outside of my hands are that of my building’s recycling policy (non-existant). My Apartment’s management company is putting profit over the environment and doesn’t allow for the collection of recycled goods.

 

The Miami Example

ecological-footprint-miami

Surprisingly I’m less wasteful back home. Thanks to my lifestyle of living with relatives, I’m able to save on space, thus mitigating¬†my impact on the built environment.

 

Overall, Lifestyles in the U.S. create a condition where we are utilizing a lion share of our planet’s resources on Energy. Seeing as we as a society will not have a radical shift in the way we’ve been living since after WWII (more suburban, sprawling out over more land at lesser densities, utilizing big-box stores, etc.), the best we can do in the immediate is find ways to curb our intakes of items within our control (i.e. food) while planning/designing for a future of living in more dense spaces, in closer proximity to all we need.

Leave a Reply

