Ecological Footprint

The information used to calculate my ecological footprint is based on the following input :

Place : Chennai , India

source : http://www.footprintnetwork.org/en/index.php/gfn/page/calculators

Attempts to calculate or change : Three

1st – Honest answers –  With food being non-vegetarian, transport being only cars, power is from electricity – resulted in me needing 1.2 global hectares of the world’s productive area to support my lifestyle.

 2nd – very Utopian answers – Practically converted to a vegetarian, no cars , still work with electricity since other energy choices are not accessible or might cause more damage – resulted in me needing 0.7 global hectares of the world’s productive area to support my new ( not so possible )  lifestyle.

3rd – “can try this” answers  – I did give up on meat  and cars , reduced the housing to individual with little living area and still had electricity , which resulted in me needing 1 global hectares of the world’s productive area to support my new (possible)  lifestyle.

Only if I live the Utopian way ,  I will be lower than the average of India , which is lower than the world average of 1.8 global hectares.

Leave a Reply

